The Kings Of Pagan

The contents of this article is a complete list of all 55 Pagan kings both legendary and historical.

The list begins with the first, King Thamudarit (107 A.D. to 152 A.D.) and ends with the last, King Uzana II of Pagan (1325 A.D. to 1364 A.D.)

The list includes the names, family relation, regencies and additional information. These information are very helpful to everyone who is interested in and is reading about the history of the kingdom of Pagan/Bagan.

1. Thamudarit, who was the founder of Pagan and reigned from 107-152 A.D.

2. Yathekyaung, who was Pyusawhti’s preceptor and reigned from 152-167 A.D.

3. Pyusawhti, was son-in-law of Thamudarit and reigned from 167 – 242 A.D.

4. Htiminyin, who was son of Pyusawhti and reigned from 242 – 299 A.D.

5. Yinminpaik, who was son of Htiminyin and reigned from 299 – 324 A.D.

6. Paikthinli, who was son of Yinminpaik and reigned from 324 – 344 A.D.

7. Thinlikyaung, who was son of Paikthinli and reigned from 344 – 387 A.D.

8. Kyaungdurit, who was son of Thinlikyaung and reigned from 387 – 412 A.D.

9. Thihtan, who was son of Kyaungdurit and reigned from 412 – 439 A.D.

10. Thuyai, who was usurper of the Pagan throne and reigned from 439 – 494 A.D.

11. Tharamunhpya, was grandson of Thihtan and reigned from 494 – 516 A.D.

12. Thaiktaing, who was son of Tharamunhpya reigned from 516 – 523 A.D.

13. Thilikyaungnge, who was son of Thaiktaing and reigned from 523 – 532 A.D.

14. Thinlipaik, was brother of Thilikyaungnge and reigned from 532 – 547 A.D.

15. Hkanlaung, who was brother of Thinlipaik and reigned from 547 – 557 A.D.

16. Hkanlat, who brother of Hkanlaung and reigned from 557 – 569 A.D.

17. Htuntaik, who was son of Hkanlat and reigned from 569 – 582 A.D.

18. Htunpyit, who was son of Htuntaik and reigned from 582 – 598 A.D.

19. Htunchit, who was son of Htunpyit and reigned from 598 – 613 A.D.

20. Popa Sawrahan, who was usurping priest and reigned from 613 – 640 A.D.

21. Shwe Onthi, son-in-law of Popa Sawrahan and reigned from 640 – 652 A.D.

22. Peitthon, who was brother of Shwe Onti and reigned from 652 – 660 A.D.

23. Peittaung, who was son of Peitthon and reigned from 660 – 710 A.D.

24. Ngahkwe, who was brother of Pettaung and reigned from 710 – 716 A.D.

25. Myinkywe, usurping groom of the Pagan throne, reigned from 716 – 726 A.D.

26. Theinkha, was Court’s nominee of the blood and reigned from 726 – 734 A.D.

27. Theinsun, who reigned from 734 – 744 A.D.

28. Shwelaung, who reigned from 744 – 753 A.D.

29. Htuntwin, who reigned from 753 – 762 A.D.

30. Shwemauk, who reigned from 762 – 785 A.D.

31. Tun Lat, who reigned from 785 – 802 A.D.

32. Sawkhinhnit, who reigned from 802 – 829 A.D.

33. Khelu, who reigned from 829 – 846 A.D.

34. Pyinbya, who was brother of Khelu and reigned from 846 – 878 A.D.

35. Tannet, who was son of Pyinbya and reigned from 878 – 894 A.D.

36. Sale Ngakhwe, who was usurper of the blood and reigned from 894 – 924 A.D.

37. Theinhko, who was son of Sale Ngakhwe and reigned from 924 – 946 A.D.

38. Nyaung-U Sawrahan (or Taungthugyi), who was usurper of the Pagan throne and reigned from 946 – 991 A.D.

39. Kunhsaw Kyaunghpyu, was son of Tannet and reigned from 991 – 1013 A.D.

40. Kyiso, was the son of Nyaung-U Sawrahan and reigned from 1013 – 1019 A.D.

41. Sokkate, who was the foster brother of Anawrahta and son of Nyaung-U Sawrahan and reigned from 1019 – 1044 A.D.

42. Anawrahta – the Warrior King – also known as Anawrahtaminsaw, Aniruddha or Anoratha, who was the son of Kunhsaw Kyaunghpyu ascended to the throne in 1044 A.D. after having killed his foster brother Sokkate and reigned Pagan till 1.077 A.D. (when as legend has it he was killed by a wild buffalo whereas others say that he was assassinated), ushered in Pagan’s ‘Age of Glory’, which was perpetuated by his successors to the throne the first of which was his son,

43. Sawlu, (also known as Man Lunan or Tsaulu). He did not do a very good job and ruled from 1077 to 1084 A.D. the year when he was killed after being captured by the Mon. Sawlu was succeeded by

44. Kyanzittha, the ‘Soldier Lord’, (also known as Htilaing Min or Thiluin Man), who was Anawrahta’s son and reigned from 1084 to 1112 A.D.

45. Alaungsithu (also known as Rhuykudayaka or Cansu I.), who was son of Sawlu and reigned from 1112 to 1267 A.D. the year he was murdered by his son Narathu.

46. Narathu (or Intaw Syan), who was son of Alaungsithu and reigned – after having poisoned his father king Alaungsithu and his elder brother Min Shin Saw the rightful heir to the throne from 1167 to 1170 A.D. the year he was killed by assassins sent by the Indian king Pateikkaya father of Narathu’s queen

47. Naratheinhka (also known as Min Yin Naratheinkha), who was the son of Narathu reigned from 1170 to 1173 A.D. the year when he was assassinated by army commander Aung Zwa.

48. Narapatisithu (also known as Cansu II or Sithu II.), who reigned from 1173 to 1210 A.D.

49. Nandaungmya (also known as Htilominlo), who was the son of Sithu II, reigned from 1210 to 1234 A.D.

50. Kyawzwa (also Klacwa or Caw Kri or Naratheinhka Uzana), who was the son of Htilominlo, reigned from 1234 to 1250 A.D., and

51. Uzana (also known as Sithu III or Uccana), who was the son of Kyazwa reigned from 1250 to 1256 A.D.

52. Narathihapate, was the son of Uzana. He lost the war against the Mongols and reigned from 1256 – 1287 A.D. the year he was poisoned by his son Thihathu after he had fled from Pagan to Bassein for fear of being captured by the Mongols and was then on his way back to Pagan after he received the message that the Mongols had left the royal city. He was succeeded by his son Kyawswa.

53. Kyawzwa, Son of king Narathihapate the last sovereign Pagan king. He reigned as vassal king of the Mongols from 1287 (1289?) – 1297 A.D.

54. Saw Hnit, son of vassal king Kyawzwa. He ‘reigned’ as viceroy of Pagan (Bagan) under the suzerain of Myinsaing Kingdom from 1325 – 1364 A.D.

55. Uzana II of Pagan, son of viceroy ‘king’ Saw Hnit. He ‘reigned’ as viceroy of Pagan (Bagan) under the suzerain of Myinsaing Kingdom from 1325 – 1364 A.D.